American Idol Top 6: How We Missed Tim Urban

The show began with my darling daughter lamenting, “It’s not going to be the same without Timmeh…”. She was right it wasn’t the same but then again it wasn’t any different except Tim Urban is now ‘come back home’ to Texas.

Pulling up caboose role last night, in the Shania Twain (Train) (play on words) night that Ellen Degeneres thought so funny was Lee Dewyze. The guy sang a completely toneless, tuneless and gravelly version of this Shania song; I could not even figure out what the Hell it was until looked it up. Google is my friend. I guess that’s called ‘making it your own’ and his own is NOT the One.
Lee Dewyze sings “You’re the One”

Michael Lynche picked “It Only Hurts when I’m Breathing” and it only hurt when I sat and watched him sing this. Lynche gave an effeminate, greasy-cheese performance complete with stupid facial contortions and over the top melisma served with a side of terrible. Ellen said he was like Luther Van Dross. That must be one of her funnier lines this season. He too makes this song ‘his own’; an unrecognizable, girly wailing fashitto waste of stage.

Casey James sang, “Don’t”, in his words to “show the side of me I haven’t really showed.” He looked gorgeous, but I was hoping for his showing how to sing Shania without a shirt, but THAT wasn’t the side of him he was talking about. We’re getting the entire Casey/Shania performance moment because well, it is my blog.

Now that is a beautiful man. TheDman keeps saying this guy will win it all, but I think (since he doesn’t really watch this show much) he’s pacifying me for bonus points because I think the guy’s a yummy mess.
The judges loved him, dubbed it The Best Casey James Performance Evah! Simon told him he must kiss Shania and I called it shenanigans. Why did Simon wear his Venom (Spiderman reference) shirt last night?
Crystal Bowersox delivered an authentically country sounding, “No One Needs to Know”, and the judge panel decides, you know, to mix it up, to toss her under the bus. Oh the suspense… will she still be safe (big undertone of sarcasm)? She continues that “Magic Carpet Ride” theme with a new rug and gives a drinking-a- cold-Lone-Star moment.
Crystal Bowersox, “No One Needs to Know”

Aaron Kelly gives the show what he does every week, every thing he does sounds the same. “You’ve Got a Way” though finally made me recall who he reminds me of… a young K D Lange. Why haven’t I noticed this before?
Aaron Kelly “You’ve Got a Way”

Siobhan Magnus was The Scream Train that drove the show last night with her dancing, prancey version of “Any Man of Mine”. Simon Cowell was so knocked out he deemed it sounded like she was ‘giving birth’ on stage. Birth to a new VFTW campaign. Siobhan did not disappoint last night.
Siobhan Magnus “Any Man of Mine”

Yee Haw.

Dial Idol has Michael Lynche and Lee in the bottom two, but then again wee Aaron is at number one. I am pulling for either of them to go home. Or Aaron.

2 Responses to American Idol Top 6: How We Missed Tim Urban

  1. jerseyirish says:

    Spin, Casey did real good last night, Lee I like his raspy voice liked his song choice. I know you don’t like Aaron but I thought he did a good job, for 17 he is very poised on the stage and presented well. Crystal just was ok last night, big Mike just don’t get the fuss over him, and Siobhan did much better last night my pick for the bottm 3 Aaron, Mike and Siobhan, think Aaron maybe the one to leave this week.

    JI

  2. Sunny says:

    Well JI that was a shocker wasn’t it? Who knew Siobhan would leave before Big Mike and Wee Aaron? After Tim’s long run though, I don’t think VFTW were completely riled up about her and don’t think the vote went out enmass at all.

    Casey B3 also a surprise; the way it’s looking he could actually leave before Melisma Mike and Aaron. You know the show’s been pimping the top two to be Lee and Crystal and the folks are sheep sometimes so that likely the scenario. I don’t despise Lee but I do think he lacks any sort of stage appeal and his vocals sound the same on every tune he does. He just does not have any range, spark or electricity.

    Casey was very good last night but apparently not good enough to stay clear of B3 – at this point in the show anything can happen.

Leave a Reply

