Oh Look! Taylor Hicks Comes to Town!

Taylor Hicks headlining the national touring production of “Grease” skid into town this week. The show is being presented at the great Bass Performance Hall in Fort Worth.

Gary Cogill, one of my favorite local entertainment reporters writes, “Bass Hall is the perfect place for shows like Grease. The big voices ring acoustically true to the top tier, especially the female cast members – they seem much more alive and together on stage, than the boys.

The sets are basic at best, but the ensemble dance numbers are staged beautifully, and bathed in bright colorful lights, hitting the hand jive at just the right level.

The leads, Sandy and Danny, are played-well by Broadway veterans Emily Padgett and Eric Schneider. He’s less like Travolta, she’s much more Sandra Dee.

Grease is being advertised with American Idol winner Taylor Hicks as the headliner, but don’t be deceived, He sings one song in act two, and for a few brief minutes, it’s a funny, well-placed parody of himself.

Grease is a ticket well-purchased, and stick around for the encore, you’ll finally see more of Taylor Hicks.”

Apparently, while I was out taking care of business, I missed Taylor Hicks’ visit on Good Morning Texas. From what I understand the show aired from Victory Park and there was goat milking involved while Taylor blew harmonica. Now doesn’t that sound entertaining? Damn, it’s been a week riddled with disappointments.

I asked my Darling Man if he had gone out and bought front row seating for “Grease” and his response was “*snort*”. I took that as a ‘no’. Now if Taylor Hicks had decided to do a pub-stop show while he’s in town, either Darling would have had to accompany me, or I’d have had to haul someone else to the show.

Scrolling through the Google alerts on Mr. Hicks this title grabbed my attention, “Gay Panic in Fort Worth, Best Burgers and Taylor Hicks Defenders”, posted in the Houston Press. At first, knowing Taylor was in Ft. Worth, it seemed the Gay community was somehow in a panic at his being there, then everyone settled down and went out for burgers. Seriously, look at that title.

What is the actual case, this posting simply a series of Houston Press commenters remarking on the Redneck cop situation in Cow Town. Apparently the local officers were going around and raiding the newly established Gay restaurant/bars that have recently opened.

You see, dear readers, Ft. Worth, or as we affectionately refer to it as Cow Town, is quite different than Dallas. Dallas is the shinier metropolitan haven for all things urban and modern, whereas Ft. Worth… well we don’t call it Cow Town for nothing.

The burger reference had to do with an article from the tony Texas Monthly in which the writer seemed to think ambience trumps flavorful eats, which is absolute rubbish. The writer in the Houston Press winds up the article nicely with, “Atmosphere is in the mind of the beholder, but any way you score it, Rockwell’s burgers blow away Texas Monthly’s Houston burger choices. Don’t take my word for it. Go eat a Rockwell Tavern burger and see for yourself.” Now next trip down toward Houston I may have to do just that. Cypress is a little community just NE of Houston.

So to sum that up, the Gay community in Cow Town being upset has nothing to do with Taylor Hicks and the burgers were only eaten by Robb Walsh and friends. For entertainment value you might want to peruse this link just for the readers’ comments. Now I’m hungry. Oh and hey, the other day I actually invited Mr. Hicks over for some Texas Bar-b-Que. Still haven’t heard back. I guess he’s busy.

Taylor Hicks, a song for you while you’re hanging out here in my neck of Texas.

“Cow Town” George Straight

9 Responses to Oh Look! Taylor Hicks Comes to Town!

  1. rosie says:

    Hey girl get your ass to Grease.

  2. Sunny says:

    Well, Rose, DMan refuses to go and really unless I had freebies not that interested. I know this sounds blasphemous but I’ve never been a fan of “Grease” lol.

  3. rosie says:

    Sunny, it is a fun fast moving musical and he and the play have gotten great reviews in cow town. The vids don’t do him justice and I enjoyed the electricity he generated in the audience. Ya know that combo of ballsiness and charisma are working for him. Anyway enjoy your weekend but I just felt compelled to do a sales pitch.

  4. jerseyirish says:

    Sunny, Hubby was not thrilled to go either, but wound up really enjoying the whole experience. While we were there he saw in Feb 10 that there will be a Beatles festival at the theatre, been watching for the tickets to go on sale he wants to go see that, so its all good.

    JI

  5. Sunny says:

    He’s definitely been providing some nice local news interviews. The media here has been very kind to him overall. I believe the man is really coming into his own in this area; certainly he’s had a lot of practice.

  6. rosie says:

    Sunny, love tradition and miss your old record spin Avi. You know one can see your uvila, OMG! No one is going to see mine. Your old avi was your words, thoughts and opinions for me and I gladly connected. You were sunny, sunshine, just giving your spin.

  7. spinshack says:

    So you’re tired of looking down my throat? lol Yeah I put this up really as a ‘message’ to a certain someone. I still have that old avi and will likely reinstall it in the near future.

    You’re so funny. I don’t mind sharing my uvula. Or saliva. You did not mention the saliva. This avi perfect on Twitter, gains quite a bit of attention there.

    Man, Dallas media really appreciating our man. Finally this a.m. had time to review interviews, etc.

  8. YKW says:

    Hey Sunny,
    You’re not alone, babe. I’m not a big “Grease” fan either simply b/c I’ve seen it 574397593070 times. And I swear, it could be performed by the cast of “True Blood” and I still would balk at seeing it!

    I’m filing an official petition to change “Cow Town” to “WOW!! Town” simply b/c it’s where you live!!

    hahahahhaha

  9. celebrityblondebabe says:

    See you soon, Sunny! Hope you are feeling better and if we can all get a seat…it would help but heard thru the grapevine that people will be camping out to get seats. Good grief! 🙄 Never know though…I know alot of peeps that are going and I will toss the “let’s share” moto their way. In the past… the people lucky enough to get a seat proceeded to get up from their table and had their chair strapped to their asses and walked bent over *imagined that urinating would be difficult*…or at least it seemed that way. J/K LOL!

    Some biotch that worked there was constantly telling us to move and we were just standing next to friends that were seated and not in the way as there was a freaking wall behind us…don’t ask what thoughts ran thru my mind about that time. However, it was loads of fun and expect to have a blast. My escape to the outside where I took off my 4 inch heels to barefoot splendor, gave me the opportunity to talk to Loren Gold! He’s so nice and offered by hand jesture to give a ride to my hotel in his limo. Jeanni was inside partying so…missed the fun ride, I think he saw the pain in my stride or was it the limp? Have a safe trip. 🙂

Leave a Reply

