Exclusive Interview! Eventful Meaningful Experience!

Well, not really. But hey, play along with me.

Last week I had an eventful and meaningful experience that lead to this first ever IDOL BLUES exclusive! Hold on to your eyeballs but fate stepped to the plate, or should I say dairy section last week. Perusing over the sour cream, heading toward the milk cooler I almost walked into one of the members of a favorite band I’ve seen multiple times in concert.

It all began after I stooped down to get my favorite sour cream. I looked up from under my hair, had to flip it back, the mess was not having its best day. I really should cut it, it’s gotten so long it hangs in my eyes in the front like a My Little Pony; when I dress gets wound up in my shirts. Damp weather and it frizzes like I’ve been electrocuted. As I pushed it back, standing a mere 6 feet from me was a guy with hair almost as long as mine. He turned around and I almost dropped the container in my hand.

Eddie Money’s song, “Take Me Home Tonight” was playing on the grocer’s sound system and I locked eyes with him. I saw he had a bottle of milk in his hand, so I, attempting to have my voice sound as normal as possible, and managed, “Hi”. (Incredibly articulate, I know.) He smiled and I returned it, I think.

I noticed he was purchasing strawberry flavored milk; haven’t drank that since I was a kid and could not have chocolate milk due to allergies. Suddenly that pink and berry flavored milk looked so damn good, I had to get a bottle too. I commented, “So you like strawberry milk too!” (Yes, I can really think on my feet.) He smiled again and said, “Yes, its a favorite of mine – better than chocolate.”

That second smile did me in. I just stood there for a moment, the Eddie Money song had ended and things were moving in slow motion. After a second he said, “Well, hey, have a good one.” I recovered from the smile to say, “Yeah, you too.” (Told you I’m a smart one. Glib.) I did have the semblance of mind to add, “So you guys playing in the area soon?” He grinned and said, “We’re doing a show nearby the 25th; just up to talk to a few people.” I reached out and shook his hand and we smiled at each other, parted ways with our strawberry milks. I haven’t enjoyed a strawberry milk like this in a long, long time. (Milk in picture not the same as the one purchased.)

So there you have it, strawberry over chocolate, and I know the world was waiting to find that little fact out.

Naturally I had to call Darling Man immediately and tell him to clear the slate for the weekend of April 25th. I’m only interested in going April 25, but the line-up can be found HERE
Tickets are incredibly reasonable, and can be purchased HERE
“My Way” acoustic

“Cisco Kid” with Willie Nelson

One Response to Exclusive Interview! Eventful Meaningful Experience!

  1. Elcorin says:

    Hello,
    Super post, Need to mark it on Digg

    Thank you
    Elcorin

Leave a Reply

