We All Have Bad Days: Dirty Laundry

In the world of Taylor Hicks fans it seems I am once again at bottom of the heap in popularity. I write from my heart, my soul, what speaks to me in the real world and in this on-line interwebs’ world. What I write does not always fit within the parameters of accepted Taylor Hicks’ fan-speak so I’m not exactly Politically Correct much of the time. I must add, I keep my real world writing quite separate from my fan world writing. As anyone might surmise I am wise to do so.

I fell off the Taylor Hicks’ Popularity Charts a long time ago while my curiosity was peaked by the MFOYA situation. At that point I just had wandered into the MFOYA website, made a post that traced to another of my blogs and the rest snowballed as the Hicks’ fans rallied to get out their virtual pitch forks, torches and whatever else they had lying around the house. The whole event completely surprised me and it was my indoctrination into the severity of obsession that can exist in the world of on-line fans.

Yes, I lost my cyber-virginity to the throngs of the Hicks fanatics. Don’t regret that for one moment; it was a time of growth for me and a time in which I finally realized the idiocy of being an obsessed fan for anyone. Sure, I sometimes occasionally get carried away – I have that propensity, but with the help of a few friends, I manage to return to balance after my occasional ‘slips’.

Yesterday I wrote a lengthy blog after watching the TMZ.com tape. It wasn’t just the tape that really disturbed me, it was also reading fan posts about the person in the tape, the callousness of some of the posters expressing how that woman got what she deserved, etc… What is this world coming to really when we can so easily chuck our humanity aside for a celebrity? How can these people say they love Hicks because they love Soul music when so many seem to have no soul whatsoever.

I’m not saying that this particular poster, whose quote I’m using has no soul – on the contrary she’s been one of the nicest fans posting on this matter. I like her and have hung out with her on a few blogs. Yesterday she said something that many of the fans are saying although in a cleaner more polite way than most, “It was not Tays place to intervene. The man had two real rough days, 9,000 CDs and TMZ and press inside the Roxy looking for a story. He stated she was out of it, hammered, that it was good for her the police had a more urgent call and did the get out of jail free comment. He did not say I know her or expose her up close or name her or call her a name.”

For one, if he’d told TMZ he knew her, it would have looked worse for him. Certainly he was not going to broadcast her name or anything; she’s done some nice things for him in the past and she’s a fan.

This poster points out that one common consensus among Mr. Hicks’ fans: he did the right thing. Likely he did on several levels, thing is they overlook the joking over her body so to speak, they overlook the callousness that comes across on that tape in that moment.

As this poster writes, poor Taylor, he’s had a bad day, a few bad days. This also a common viewpoint with the Taylor Hicks’ fans: just look past everything. It is all about him after all, all about the music. He’s no Superman, he’s not the White Knight of the Soul Patrol, after all.

The woman in question posted on the blog (It’s All Grey) which initially posted the video; she had the temerity and the courage to face the folks in that post. I commend her for that – she wrote:

“Hello all, yes I am alive sorry to burst the bubble of those who wanted a different outcome. Thanks for the “human being” comments Spin I so agree…First let me say I flew in at 10:30am the day of the show and it was a very hot 87 degrees and I had a lot to do around town before the show so I should have been drinking a lot of water; Also the only thing I had time to eat was breakfeast during my layover in Memphis. So the alcohol hit me a bit hard. I was blacked out on that wall BTW (not responsive) But I did have someone who went beyond the call of duty and stayed with me until the Ambulance came and I will always be in her debt for that!!! Taylor also I learned did not leave the venue till he knew 911 was called by the Roxy staff.

Now as for this stalking stuff, I have not seen Taylor since last year his birthday weekend at Marty’s sure you all saw the videos. Before that it was in N.Y. in July. I can not afford to go to all his events but I am just a fan like anyone else…Also I was not escoted out the Roxy my friend took me out to get some air. As for a threat towards Taylor I won’t validate that with a response. As for those girls saying I told them that we were friends never happened and I think they were trying to be funny for TMZ and Taylor but who knows.

I had a blast Taylor was in top voice and he rocked it! That was actually my last Taylor performance for a while I have a Documentary on Topper Price I am swampped in and an online music show I have in development called Majic city IAD and I am about to do the whole settle down family thing with my boyfriend Omari who is a musician and reason I am still there BTW. So if going to two events a year makes me a stalker.I must have read the wrong definition.

I wish all the SP the best and for those who wish I would have died out there on Sunset I will pray for you.

God Bless

Because he blessed me with great music and an Angel in my opinion that night! K, I will always be in your debt!!

Tayfan1”

This lady was being blasted on various sites for being a “stalker” among other negative things, saying she ‘got what she deserved’ what ever the Hell that means. I applaud her for standing up for herself and writing that message. I applaud her for taking the high road – and for not saying anything negative. She even speaks glowingly about the concert, what she was able to remember, at least.

It seems there was a good Samaritan in her midst that night, someone who stayed right by her side until she was helped. There are still a few good folks out there in the Big Real.

So for fans to say how Mr. Hicks was having a bad day, I think the lady who was pecked at like carrion by some in this fan base was having a bad day as well. I’m just glad that things turned out well for her and she’s not on the list of missing persons or statistics.

Now remember, everyone has a bad day now and then.
“Dirty Laundry” LYRICS

damanfromplaid video

Leave a Reply

