Taylor Hicks and His Indiscrimate Act of Kindness

Taylor Hicks’ fans, I heard something today, a song off of Mr. Hicks’ new CD. A song that has me looking right past that Achy Breaky Heart-Keeping It Real song. Target is fortunate to be the venue offering Taylor’s newest CD, “The Distance”, in being able to handle this particular additional track of “Indiscriminate Act of Kindness”. It is one damn fine song.

Taylor Hicks sings, “This is the reward you can get…” one of the lines from this song. Appropriate because this tune, written by Foy Vance, proves solidly Taylor Hicks does indeed possess the ability to translate and communicate his heart and soul in the plastic format. Many fans of the man talk about his live performances being where the guy truly lives and I for one, have been questioning his ability to communicate as effectively on the digital format. Questioned what happens to Mr. Hicks when he hits that sound booth. “Indiscriminate Act of Kindness” has answered my question, allayed my doubt.

“Indiscriminate Act of Kindness” written by Foy Vance, sung by Taylor Hicks, one of the best songs I’ve ever heard. Ever. I love the Foy Vance version, but man, Mr. Hicks does something to this song that elevates the message and the feel to a different degree. I’d heard Taylor do “Georgia” back in 2006 and had felt I had not heard a recording by him that matched it. Did not know if he was capable of doing that type of studio sound again. Hicks’ delivery of “Indiscriminate” every bit the type of music we heard on his earlier recordings, only better. Take any track off of “Under the Radar” or “In Your Time” times two and you get the impact of Hicks singing this song. Hell, this is one of the best songs, I’ve ever heard by anyone.

Taylor Hicks performs this tune with his gravel laden vocals subdued, keeping the music simple, he eloquently, soul drippingly tells this story. Listening to Taylor Hicks, his vocals left my heart bursting, little bits and pieces of my soul singing right along with him. The man took my breath away; this song is worth the price of the whole CD and then some. Yes, my dear readers, set your eyes on the bullseye and get thee to Target.

6 Responses to Taylor Hicks and His Indiscrimate Act of Kindness

  1. Linn says:

    At least two Targets don’t have the bonus tracks. Mine was in Oregon. And I’m really ticked about it! But I bet I’m S.O.O.L. I hope somebody “leaks it” online!

  2. itsallgrey says:

    Nothing but complete and total love for this song..for the way he sings it, the way he feels it. It is fantastic and the Taylor that I’ve been waiting on.

  3. rosie says:

    Sunny, I just noticed your picture of Adam’s eyes. Last season you became a Castro fan, bad taste IMO. Give it a bit longer before becoming enthralled with this guy/girl. Come Tues. he needs to sing country!

  4. spinshack says:

    I liked ol Castro because he was different. Too he’s from around here. He added a lot to the show last season so no regrets.

    Adam gLambert’s gonna blow your dress up Ro, so hold tight to that skirt.

  5. rosie says:

    Don’t think he’d want to see any girls dress blow up.

  6. spinshack says:

    Bwhahaha. Likely not. But then I don’t see anything wrong with that either.

Leave a Reply

