Taylor Hicks, If You Build it Will They Come?

Taylor Hicks has not built a baseball diamond in an Iowa cornfield but when I saw he has instigated a modification on his myspace the movie, Field of Dreams popped into my mind.

On Taylor Hicks’ myspace now are subject headers with the first one “Official Site”. Now mind you I had thought the ‘official site’ was the Taylor Hicks’ Headquarters, you know the one with the pay to view membership. I’ve never joined it because I won’t be charged to be a fan, which is actually the basic premise of those pay-to-view websites. Call me a bad fan. I call myself a principled fan.

The second header is “The Soul Lounge”. Clicking that does nothing currently, but if you click the “Official Site” header you are transported off of Myspace and to taylorhicks.com. Scrolling down, you can locate the link to the Soul Lounge, the new free forum.

Now, this may be an interesting experiment into the actual interest and breadth of the fan base Taylor has remaining from his days on American Idol. It could possibly also introduce a more positive vibe for Taylor’s fans. It’s still in the very formative stages with Moderators unidentified – although likely several folks might be clamoring for the position.

As far as the similarities to “Field of Dreams, the line actually in the movie is, “If You build it he will come.” I’m wondering if ‘the muses’ that Mr. Hicks often refers to may have spoke and suggest he do this, much like the “voices’ spoke to Ray in the movie. I can imagine the voices whispering, Free Forum, Free Forum. (Kind of scaring myself now.)

Taylor Hicks’ new forum attached to his myspace page and official site, could have come sooner, but better late than never, perhaps. Thing is, will it make any difference at this juncture in his career? My question follows the line from the movie, “…is there enough magic out there in the moonlight to make this dream come true?”.

Taylor Hicks, in the beginning of his drive for national notice seemed not unlike the character depicted in the movie, Shoeless Joe Jackson. In the movie, Shoeless Joe says upon visiting the Iowa cornfield turned baseball diamond, “I used to love travelling on the trains from town to town. The hotels… brass spittoons in the lobbies, brass beds in the rooms. It was the crowd, rising to their feet when the ball was hit deep. Shoot, I’d play for nothing!”

Taylor has said in the past he did the small clubs and bars just to play, to live for the music. Fans have been questioning if that is still the real Taylor or has his brush with celebrity created a different change in the man. A change not indicated in his rendition of “A Change a Gonna Come” sung during his Idol audition. No, rather, this change brought on by the sparking and dancing flame called “Celebrity”. Many an artist has been burned in their quest for it, some flying into the fire and annihilated. Is this change toward a free website and forum a move forward for Taylor Hicks? Is it an affirmation he’s still that guy who earnestly sang Sam Cooke’s song? Since he’s ‘building it’ will the fans really still come?
“Paper and Fire” John Mellencamp

video graciously supplied by mboxxmm
Lyrics:
She had a dream
And boy it was a good one
So she chased after her dream
With much desire
But when she get too close
To her expectations
Well the dream burned up
Like paper in fire.

10 Responses to Taylor Hicks, If You Build it Will They Come?

  1. Rain says:

    Why does Taylor Hicks need another forum? There isn’t anything to talk about. Six months on a Grease tour does not hold a lot interest for many people (me included), except his hardcore fans. He is slowly but surely, disappearing from the music scene. He does not communicate with his fans and when he does, it’s always innuendo. I think a new CD and a tour will probably not happen for a long, long time, if ever.

  2. spinshack says:

    Rain, it may be an attempt on his part to increase fan communication; perhaps he may participate like some other artists do on their forums.

    I guess time will tell what this may bring – if anything. Regarding his CD with his vacationing – perhaps doing some snorkeling around the Yucatan – not looking hopeful about that new CD any time soon, you’re right on that.

  3. hicksaholic says:

    I already have about 5 or 6 Taylor sites I visit routinely to check out any news but Taylor’s official sites have historically not had any news. Even Taylor’s blogs or messages are so generic they are pretty meaningless. Other sites have the news first and have the more interesting discussion. If others are like me they won’t bother with the new site unless it adds something. The jockeying for position as mod will really kill it if they don’t get people that are flexible and not too power hungry. Count me as one who will not be renewing my headquarters membership. It is of no value unless he is touring and you get first dibs on tickets.
    Is Taylor in the Yucatan? Rough life

  4. Rain says:

    Sunny, in two years, he has not participated in any forums, what makes you think he will now?

    I also joined HQ and don’t ask me why. Total waste of money and I will not be rejoining. As far as getting good tickets to his shows, that is a total myth. I know people who are not members of HQ and actually got better seats than members. How do you explain that? But, if people join HQ because of getting good seats, I don’t believe there will be any touring for a LONG, LONG time anyway.

    I guess I’m very tired for things to happen and maybe I finally realized there is nothing happening and probably never will. If he goes back to music, I might be interested again, but not for now. His good looks are not enough to hold my interest. So, Sunny, you’re right, time will tell. Yup, I’m a bad fan.

  5. hicksaholic says:

    I heard that about the tickets too, not sure if it is true. If so Taylor needs to find some distinct advantages to offer his fans to make them willing to pay to join HQ or even good fans (like me, ha ha) won’t join.

  6. rosie says:

    Sunny, It would be nice to see fans get together in one place. I wasted $25 a few months back. That place was a joke and his my space is a bore. The new spot looks far better than both of them. Good job with the blog Spin.

  7. Notgoing tosay says:

    I have myself purchased less expensive tickets & got better seats that the ones I purchased on HQ … actually had to sell my tickets from HQ to use the seats I received straight from the venues (2x). Had front row without using HQ to get them. Its a shame how they are ripping members off who think they are getting something for being a member. I have been very disapponted with my membership, I dont know how anyone talked me back into joining AGAIN .. I won’t be scammed anymore – I can get Taylor Hicks info in other places.

  8. spinshack says:

    That’s why I refuse to join the pay-to-view fansites. They rip you off. They give the artist a small amount of revenue but largely are a bad choice for an artist in today’s market. I have been harping on that — forever. Glad he’s doing this, hopeful for the outcome.

    You guys, never ever pay to be a fan – that’s just fucked up. Fan forums and fan sites should be free. You pay by buying the music, going to concerts. You get Satellite to pay to view. lol

  9. lwing says:

    I totally agree spinshack with the comment on not wanting to pay to be a fan. I don’t begrudge the ones who have joined, for they have their reasons, but it’s just another corporate rip off, supposedly set up to help the artist. Heh.

    I remember way back when, some Taylor fans getting excited to think he’d be dropping in the offical blog, which many assumed would be GC, to share his wealth of musical artists, new and old. I hope this is the direction the Soul Lounge takes on, and the right mods are assigned.

    I see this as a very positive step in the right direction. I think it’s imperative that TH take the bull by the horns and steer the topic of convo where it belongs, on the music. Let the fangirly girls squee elsewhere on the appropriate forums.

    o/t but hicksaholic, did you see my link to the political blog in the other post ? She doesn’t go by the same SN over there, but a little reading and it’s clear which one she is. 🙂

  10. hicksaholic says:

    I did find the link- I assume she is lancelot. It’s a very interesting blog. Thanks so much for providing it. I had been wondering about it for a while. Boy those were the good one days on MJ’s and Gray’s with posters with diverse opinions to share like Dingo. Her posts were thought provoking sometimes and sometimes hilarious too.

Leave a Reply

