Taylor Hicks Taking the Teen Angel to the Streets

Taylor Hicks is expanding his role of Teen Angel in “Grease” and taking it on the road. Yes, Taylor Hicks has accepted the offer of performing as Teen Angel in the National Touring production of “Grease”.

According to Playbill News it looks like the Spring Tour that Taylor Hicks had talked about will be revolving around his role as that “Beauty School Drop-Out” singing Angel. Andrew Gans, writer for the Playbill News wrote,

“”American Idol” winner Taylor Hicks, who recently completed a summer stint as Teen Angel in the Broadway company of Grease, will play that role for audiences across the country in the upcoming national tour of the fifties-themed musical.”

Obviously Taylor Hicks impressed the show’s producers sufficiently for them to make him an offer he could not refuse. I guess now, interested fans who may not have been able to attend this production in New York City can now make plans to go see Mr. Hicks and have their very own playbill signed.

Didn’t I write in an earlier blog, that Taylor Hicks might be headed out West? Yes, I think I did. (It’s all about the timing.)
“Going Out West” Tom Waits

lyrics:

“Well I’m goin’ out west
Where the wind blows tall
‘Cause Tony Franciosa
Used to date my ma
They got some money out there
They’re giving it away
I’m gonna do what I want
Do what I want
And I’m gonna get paid”

The schedule for the National Tour is as follows:

Dec. 2-7, 2008 at the Providence Performing Arts Center, Providence, RI
Dec. 9-14, 2008 at the Wharton Center for the Performing Arts, East Lansing, MI
Dec. 16-21, 2008 at Palace Theatre, Columbus, OH
Dec. 30, 2008-Jan. 4, 2009 at the Orpheum Theatre, Minneapolis, MN
Jan. 6-18, 2009 at the Auditorium Theatre, Chicago, IL
Jan. 20-Feb. 1, 2009 at the Aronoff Center for the Arts, Cincinnati, OH
Feb. 3-15, 2009 at the Hippodrome Theatre, Baltimore, MD
Feb. 24-March 1, 2009 at the Music Hall, Tucson, AZ
March 3-8, 2009 at the Civic Theatre, San Diego, CA
March 10-22, 2009 at the Pantages Theatre, Los Angeles, CA
March 24-April 19, 2009 at the Golden Gate Theatre, San Francisco, CA (I know when to make sure I’m back in SFO.)
April 21-26, 2009 at Keller Auditorium, Portland, OR
April 28-May 10, 2009 at the Orange County Performing Arts Center, Costa Mesa, CA
May 12-30, 2009 at the 5th Avenue Theatre, Seattle, WA

The rest of the casting results are not available at this time. Here’s another rumor, this production may feature much more of the Teen Angel than the original. Ah, Hell, what do I know?

“Taking it to the Streets” Taylor Hicks

3 Responses to Taylor Hicks Taking the Teen Angel to the Streets

  1. rosie says:

    Glad I did not bet money. I am really shocked as this is not the tour I expected. Oh well Tay is always full of surprises and I’ll being seeing Grease in Balto. Spin I think I am at a loss for words, a rare thing indeed for me!

  2. brightlite says:

    Taylor does what he wants to do, he is a man afterall. lol. Judging him for his career moves is pretty nuts, and judging him for his personal life is downright insane. People say they want him to communicate what he will be doing in his career, and then after he does they crucify him if there is a change, yet they can’t stand it if he remains quiet.
    You can’t have your cake and eat it too. If you want him to talk and let everyone in on his plans then expect that there might be changes, or don’t beg him to talk and reveal his comings and goings. I say he should just not say anything like most artists and let people see only the facts as they come down the pike.

    Why are people so invested in what he does day to day? It blows my mind to think that there isn’t enough going on in their life to just live and findm excitement in their day to day life.
    I am not saying that you do this sunny, I know that you are pretty realistic about it all, and so are the GF’s. I know for a fact that they adore him and are not trolls.
    The Gf’s are just ardent fans, and will support his decisions no mmatter what they are, and I think that is cool.
    It is wrong to plut so many expectations on anyone. He is just living his life, making a career happen, and finding ways to keep himself in the spotlight.
    What is so wrong with that?
    I remain…
    perplexed

  3. hicksaholic says:

    I just love watching the old videos from AI. Taylor was so excited that people loved him and he worked his ass off each week trying to improve. It kind of makes me sad (and I know it is not my career) thinking about him spending almost a year out of his life singing BSD. I hope the money is great. Taylor has so much more to offer the music world. I would love to know what has gone through Taylor’s mind each time these major career decisions come up and what makes him decide on each of them. Maybe then I could accept them better as a Taylor fan.

Leave a Reply

